School Alerts
Home / About Us / Academy Governance

Academy Governance

The role of the Local Education and Consultative Committee at Byron Wood Academy is to provide strategic oversight and to support, challenge and champion the school’s leadership.  They meet as a full group every term.

The LECC consists of:

Mark Coppel (NLG Chair)
Mark has worked in education since 2006 and is a National Leader of Governance (NLG) and is an experienced chair, trainer and consultant.  He has worked with a number and variety of schools, including successfully chairing an Interim Executive Board (IEB) taking the school from ‘Special Measures’ to ‘Good’. He has experience of working with Local Authorities and Multi-Academy Trusts.

As a Governor, he believes in making School Improvement the focus of Governor activity and setting high expectations for the other Governors through example and discussion.  He has a strong belief in a child centred approach.

He currently works as a Governor trainer and consultant for the National Governance Association (NGA) and chairs a Local Governing Body and a number of transition boards. He also conducts External Reviews of Governance for maintained schools, Academies and MATs. In addition he delivers a number of governor training courses in Sheffield for a teaching school alliance and the local schools’ company. His previous work included facilitating and evaluating Creative Partnerships projects in schools under the previous Labour government’s flagship creativity and culture programme for education.

Shaklil Zaman (Safeguarding Member / Vice Chair)
My name is Shaklil Zaman. I came to England when I was three years old from Pakistan. I have lived in Sheffield the majority of my life and continue to live here with my wife and four children.  I graduated in 2007 with an MSc. For the past 15 years I have been employed by Sheffield City Council in various education related roles with a focus around inclusion, safeguarding, attendance and attainment. I am delighted to be on the board of governors at Byron Wood and hope to use my experience and knowledge to ensure all the children in this school reach their full potential. I strongly feel that a good education can open up many doors of opportunity for our children, and we need to work together to make this happen.

sheena pen portraitSheena Patel
I have been teaching Maths for 13 years and have held a variety of roles within that time, KS 3 Intervention Manager, Lead Teacher, Head of Maths, Director of Maths, Assistant Headteacher and most recently Assistant Principal. I have four years’ experience of working in multiple schools for Wickersley Academy Trust as an Assistant headteacher improving the trusts schools maths departments initially. I was also lead professional for whole school teaching and learning and for Closing the Gap Agenda. I have also worked outside of schools, holding several finance related positions. My love of maths developed through taking part in quality CPD and hearing people who were passionate about the subject and believed so strongly in what they were saying. I have been able to take that forward into my own practice and have now made links with the Yorkshire Humber Maths Hub so am continually developing my own knowledge and practice as a professional. I am passionate about children being given the opportunity to reach their full potential in a fun, stimulating and exciting environment. As a leader I have been able to work with colleagues to develop the curriculum and teaching practice across the schools I have worked in. I enjoy seeing pupils and staff make progress and develop pride in their achievements. I have delivered training for the LA , Wickerlsey Academy Trust and whole school INSET sessions, sharing my belief that quality, and embedded AfL is the key to improved outcomes for children.

Bernie Klose 
Bernie is a native of Sheffield ( from the age of 3) and brings substantial expertise in Human resources and improving organisations to the governing body.  My background is mixed ranging from NHS Performance Management at both regional and national levels through to national pay negotiations and policy in the NHS, as well as spells in Energy and Facilities Management , though for the last 13 years I have been freelance in supporting organisations through change programmes.

I have experience in Higher and Further education and am passionate about improving life chances for pupils, through my own personal experience of seeing good and not so good outcomes from Sheffield schools and being the son of a former miner and immigrant from Poland with a bit of Scottish and Yorkshire in the family too.  I’m keen for the governing body to bring its collective expertise and experience to continue and build on the improvements that have been made in the last year with support from the Academy framework, and ensuring that we work collaboratively with parents and staff in doing this.

Bee Wood  (Principal)

Esam Abdulqader (Staff member)
Been a member of staff at Byron Wood Academy for thriteen years. Since 2016 Mr Esam has developed his role as a qualified safe guarding deputy. Due to Mr Esams position as a learning mentor, he is experienced in regards to childrens behaviour, admissions, interpeter and general wellbeing of each and every pupil. He is excited about his new role representing school as a staff governor.

Ben Burrell (Staff Member)
I started teaching at Byron Wood in September 2016 following eight years of teaching in Newcastle. I am phase leader in Lower Key Stage 2 and school lead for Maths where I am working to ensure that Byron Wood becomes a leading school in the city for the teaching of Maths. I am passionate about ensuring that all learners receive the same opportunities in order that everyone can achieve their potential. Outside of school I enjoy running and cycling and regularly take part in long-distance, endurance events.

Barwago Ahmed (Parent Member)

Abeela Awan (Parent Member)

Sue Brookes (Clerk)

The committee’s statutory information can be found here.

The committee’s terms of reference can be found here.

For information on Trust Governance please Click Here

For information on Trustees please Click Here

For information on Trust Policies & Financial information please Click Here