School Alerts
Home / Learning


At Byron Wood Academy we are passionate about our school curriculum. We understand that children learn best when they have ownership of their learning, when they can see why they are learning and when they are having fun. Our skills-based curriculum clearly states what should be taught at each stage through school.

Foundation Stage– F1 and F2
Key Stage 1- Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2- Years 3, 4, 5 & 6

The curriculum is developmental, building on children’s experience and prioritising English, Mathematics and I.C.T.

We aim to ensure that children develop the skills, knowledge and understanding which they will require in their future lives.  The strategies we use for effective learning and teaching are outlined in the school Learning and Teaching policy (available in school on request).